Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nositting

coffee grounds

nositting
12 years ago

hey guys, i'm new to worming (1 month with RM bin and a 2 lb. squirm) and have a question....

i have a friend that works at Starbucks and saves me UCG. everyone says the EF love UCG but are we sure about that? UCG look quite a bit like vermicompost in my dark basement and i'm wondering if they're just camouflaged in the bin? interested in your thoughts.

according to my friend, the older women that used to get the UCG for their gardens aren't too happy with me. my boys don't eat that much so i think there's plenty of grounds to go around!

i have a family of 6 so i have more scraps than i can deal with.... i guess i need more worms!!

Comments (6)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    12 years ago

The spring time is when the grounds are most in demand. Maybe let them have them then and you take them in the off season. I find that after the pumpkins it is slim pickings during the winter. That is when I would most want the grounds. But then again if I had unlimited supply of grounds I would probably not put them in my bin. I would spread them around the lawn in a very thin layer. Or grow mushrooms with them. I too am not convinced the worms do anything with the grounds. It would seem to be good just to let the grounds hang out in the bin and gain wee beasties and harvest them back out giving bulk to the castings.

• sbryce_gw
    12 years ago

It has been my experience that worms are not fond of fresh grounds, but after they grow a white fungus on them, the worms will feast on them. Coffee grounds don't like to hold moisture. When they dry out, they can form a hard crust. After growing the fungus, that all changes.

• 11otis
    12 years ago