Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melindaah

I have worms ...now what

melindaAH
11 years ago

hello
i am new to gardening and worms...
I got 2000 of the wiggly little things and after screaming and jumping around a few times i managed to get them in a new RM home made of paper shred and peat moss
I didnt wet the peat of coarse....so i had to try and add water while not drowning them....then they tried to escape so i quickly ran and google and discovered a light would send them back down the walls....now they are in the box...minus a few a have trying to escape time to time...but now i have the little white eggs on the walls...should i jsut start over make them a better home? as much as i cant stand to handle them yet ..i really want to use the compost...i feed them bananas carrot and scraps help!

Comments (3)

• worm_composting_help
    11 years ago

Hello Melinda,

welcome to the worm farming community! Running a worm farm might initially sound difficult but I promise you it is much easier than it sounds.

It's never a good sign if lots of worms want to escape from a worm farm. This indicates that they are not happy with their surroundings.

Sometimes peat moss as well as certain paper might be acidic which is harmful to worms so they obviously would like to get away from this. If you force them down with light which definitely should work because they don't like that either you might cause further problems.

If you use paper as a bedding for your worms use only old newspaper and not any shiny stuff or white photo copy pat\per!

If only a few worms seem to be sticking to the walls of your worm farm then the conditions shouldn't be to bad anymore.

Anyway I have been a worm farmer for more than 14 years now and suggest you have a look at the following links that can assist you with most of your questions!

In the picture I attached you can see a home build worm farm that I made. The plans how to build it or a similar one you will find here: