Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greengrass12

deer droppings

greengrass12
10 years ago

Is this safe to put deer droppings in worm bin inHow does lyme its raw state? hunters eat deer so is it safe to assume that lyme is not in feces? I have no idea.

Comments (24)

• momokahn
    10 years ago

Myself I would have no issue with deer droppings. I am not a scientist but I can say this. I shy away from ANY type of manure that comes from horses or cattle due to the fact of the vaccinations and hormones that livestock receive today.

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    10 years ago

I'm pretty sure zero scientific studies have been even contemplated to figure out if deer infected with lyme disease pass lyme disease on in their droppings and if after vermicomposting the disease if it was even there in the first place is now gone and the resulting vermicompost is lyme disease free.

If it helps the topic of vermicomposting and lyme disease is now forever stuck on google because google is stuck on us.

There really are so few people vermicomposting and of that tiny bit so few people vermicomposting deer droppings and of them so few people vermicomposting deer droppings where the deer have lyme disease as to make the topic very rare indeed.

But of value.

• eibren
    10 years ago

Besides Lyme, deer in the US also carry a nematode that, in its second stage, can infect snails. If ungulates (moose, sheep, goats, alpacas, etc) ingest these infected snails while browsing, they can get a "brain worm" which causes neurological problems. It also lays many eggs which eventually are excreted. This information is not widely known outside the community of higher level agricultural veterinarians.

Supposedly humans cannot be infected by these nematodes, but it is possible that some dermatological problems that the medical community is so far passing off as a "psychological problem" are actually due to a filiarial form of these or other nematodes.