Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vermiprano

Red wigglers in my tumbler with BSF larvae?

vermiprano
12 years ago

I am a TOTAL newbie. In fact, I don't even have my bins and worms yet but, true to my nature, I am incessantly planning and researching before I start.

We are embarking on worm composting because we are not having luck with our tumbler. The past two years we have had SCADS of BSF larvae in the bin. We were happy to have them, but they are gone now and there is a lot of uncomposted material left in the tumbler. The tumbler is FULL, but it contains TONS of egg shells, TONS of avocado skins and TONS of pumpkin seeds that have not broken down. These are mixed in with lots of composted material, but it drives me NUTS that I have two years worth of partially composted material that I can't use in my new garden.

While reading this message board over the past week, I came across some mention of BSF larvae and red wigglers working well together. That got me wondering if I could order some extra red wigglers to finish the work in my tumbler. I know they don't appreciate egg shells very much, but was wondering if they might break down the pumpkin seeds and avocado skins.

If I did add some worms, would I just moisten the tumbler, add some bedding and let them go?

Thanks!

Vermiprano

Comments (5)

• mendopete
    12 years ago

Welcome Vermiprano to the forum and to wormin'.
    For any compost to finish, you got to quit adding to it for awhile. Also you did not mention adding any "browns" or "bedding"
    A friend used a tumbler to pre-compost kitchen scraps for his worm bin. It was wet and smelly and full of fruit flies. It also always seemed to have a small but hardy population of red wigglers! He also had some BSF show up in the summer. It RARELY gets above 80F here. I doubt you could use worms in a tumbler with your hot summer.