Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shimmer73

Red Wiggler food

Shimmer73
10 years ago

I'm new to this forum, so hello folks. First, I'd like to thank alot of you. So much information here has helped me. Second, I'm new to this all, but my worm bins ( I have 2) are doing really well. But I have a question about food. After boiling water, I take fresh sage and rosemary and steep it for 20 minutes. Drain and add to baby shampoo. It's great for hair. It helps with dandruff, gives it body, and brings out my curls, and fades the greys. My question is, after I drain it, I'm left with soggy sage and rosemary twigs and leaves. If I let them dry out a bit, can I feed these to my Wiggleys too?? Thanks. P.S. My sis laughed so hard when I told her about my worm bins, but not because I have worm bins. But because I was mad that I have finicky worms, mine absolutely hate potato peels, and carrots. :)

Comments (11)

• 11otis
    10 years ago

If your bin is not too wet, no need to dry the sage. Just squeeze it with your hands as best as you can.
    I usually freeze the carrots cut off for about a week and after that, I have them in a closed plastic bag on my porch in the sun to pre-rot. A few days ago my neighbour gave me a bag with sprouted potatoes. I removed the sprouts, chopped up the potatoes and have them in the freezer now. I am planning to do the same as with the carrots cut off. My worms do like the soft rotten carrots.

• Shimmer73
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you, I'll try and let the potato peels and carrots rot a bit more to see if they like them that way.

• normanowiggler
    10 years ago

How long did you put the carrot in the sun for?

• 11otis
    10 years ago

We didn't have too many sunny days so the closed bag sat for about a week on the deck, previously frozen.
    A full plastic shopping bag with chopped up potatoes is defrosting in my sink and will go outside tomorrow. Let's see how long it will take to start rotting.