Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bjtrain83

Just Some Questions

bjtrain83
16 years ago

I'm a beginner. Just started my worm bin a couple weeks ago with about 50 worms to try it out. I've been pretty nervous of my worms leaving so in 2 weeks it's about half-way full(about 8 in) of garden soil. None of my worms have left so I'm starting another bin and getting in 1000 worms. I was wondering how much water needs to be added to the soil and how often? What is harvesting and how do you do it? Both of my bins are exactly the same so I wanted to do the whole worms going from one bin to the other. How do you do that? I would really like some pics if you could.

Thanks

Comments (10)

• vermiman
    16 years ago

What type of worms? Red wigglers are not soil dwellers.

• suziqzer
    16 years ago

If you are using bins and compost worms you want very little actual soil in your bin... just enough for a little grit for the worms to help them with digestion.

There is lots of information on this forum and online. I'm relatively new to this as well and found just by searching around the internet I learned so much more than any one or two people could tell me.

• bjtrain83
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I have about 30 red wigglers, 10 night crawlers, and then 1000 African Night Crawlers on the way. I read online to line it with newspaper, which I did, and then put about 2 inches of garden soil with bedding on top. My bedding consists of shredded newspaper, eggshells, fruit peels and such. I cover the fruit with more garden soil because the fruit flies somehow keep getting in the mix. But you're saying don't fill the bin with soil, but more bedding? And I couldn't find anything about harvesting to actually tell me how to do it. Every article just mentions that what you do after so many weeks and the compost looks like worm poo. Also, I saw a person posting pictures with his message, how do you do that?

• bjtrain83
    Original Author
    16 years ago