Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Newbie - cloth over liquid bin question

Posted by mccaba Zone 6 Buffalo NY (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 25, 09 at 19:48

Hello,
I'm relatively new to vermicomposting, and have a question. I have a 4-tray composter from Wormswranger, and things are going well so far (worms have been in for 3 weeks). Today I did a little checking on them and noticed that most of the worms, along with what looks like just compost to me (no big chunks) are laying on the cloth layer which is between the first tray and the liquid collection tray. I didn't think they were supposed to be there, so I moved them back to the first tray, pulled the cloth tight, and set the first (bottom) tray back on it. Should I have left it alone?
I know, a little late to ask now, but I just didn't think of asking here first.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Newbie - cloth over liquid bin question

Worms that make it down there might find their way back, or they might eventually die. I would have done the same thing. In fact, I would make it a point to check every 2 or 3 days to see if any strays got down there, and put them back in one of the working trays.

o

Mine go down in there all the time and then come back up (I've watched them going both ways). I don't worry about it because as long as you have the cloth pulled tight and the liquid isn't so full that it is touching the fabric then they are just doing their job and "working" in this part as well. When there is nothing left but compost in that part they'll stop going down there.

o

• Posted by mccaba Zone 6 Buffalo NY (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 26, 09 at 9:41

Thanks for the replies! I'll keep checking on them.

o

Hi, Mccaba,