Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joetoe

what do you call the liquid that drains off the worm casting?

John near Toledo
10 years ago

I have 4 utility sinks of worms and I put a gallon of water on them each week, what do you call the water that drains out at the bottom of the sink?

I called it worm tea and I was told it is not worm tea so I was checking and to get worm tea you have to brew it with worm castings.

Can someone explain all this to me?

I have about 50 gallons of the water that drained out of the sink, what would you do with that water?

I am new to this and would like to have as much information that I can get.

Is there any very good forms on the computer that is just about worm farming and worm castings and tea?

Comments (17)

• boredsogarden
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I, personally--compost tea.

• chuckiebtoo
    10 years ago

That water is leachate (excess water that has run thru a worm environment). Pour it on some plants, or grass. It has a little bit of value to plants.

If I were you, I'd start at the front of this forum and begin reading all the stuff we've talked about all these years.

If you want to read about leachate, search for "leachate" in the little "search" box at the top of the screen.

Or, you can still ask.

Chuckiebtoo

• mendopete
    10 years ago

I would call it worm-bin runoff. It is probably a mix of liquefied castings and whatever else you are feeding.
    Most worm bin owners strive not to have much runoff. If you did not have the drain in the bin, and the liquid accumulated it would be called leachate. This can go anaerobic and smell bad. Probably not tea material.
    If your juice don't stink, you could try and use it as is, or search out various ways to make tea. It is not recommended to store tea, but use it fresh.

I have read of a few others who use the flush method you describe. I thought of making one out of a bathtub if I ever get around to replacing my old one.