Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bigdaddybondo

Adding worms to raised beds

Firehouse Painting
18 years ago

I ve built some raised beds in my garden... 5-3'x6'x12", and 2-3'x12'x12"... I have filled them up with "Mel's mix" equal parts compost, peat, and vermiculite... ( I added a little cow manure for good measure as well)... Now i was thinking of adding a couple of pounds of worms to the soil.. Is it worth the $30?? what kind of worms should I add??? Any help would be appreciated

Comments (12)

• recluse
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

bigdaddybondo, I wouldn't buy worms to add to your raised beds, I would gather worms from your property/yard to add to the garden - if you really find the need to do such a thing.

I'm far from an expert in this area (or any area of gardening, for that matter), but I have done something very similiar to what you are proposing.

My raised beds began as a weed barrier, then became a lasagna bed (as I read about the benefits, and supposed ease, of just piling OM on wet cardboard and planting in it). Once I actually created the lasagna beds, I found that with the materials I used, I could not plant it in, so my beds once again evolved - into a combination lasagna/modified sq ft garden.

I used (soilless) potting mix on top of my lasagna layers, so I have similiar materials (to what you have used) filling my beds. When I was building lasagna layers, I added worms from my yard reasoning that the worms would speed up the breakdown of the organic matter I had added and make it available to the plants faster.

In my opinion, there isn't much benefit to adding worms to a bed containing only Mel's Mix because the bed already has those benefits incorporated into it's makeup.

Garden worms break up and aerate compacted soils (red worms do not do this, only burrowing worms do it). But, with Mel's Mix, the soil is not compacted, so capillary water movement is already good.