Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lexicanada

Dead red wigglers, lots of little white ones

LexiCanada
10 years ago

Hi everyone

I am new to vermincomposting - am working on my first bin now. It is in a sterilite drawer with holes drilled in the bottom.

Things seemed to be going well, but then I got fruit flies and figured maybe I was overfeeding. I went away for a week and the worms had lots of food before I left.

I have now returned, and see that my red wigglers appear to be dead, and that some tried to crawl out of the bin and dried up & died too. But it is FULL of little white ones. They are only about a half inch long and I am not sure if they are baby wigglers or potworms. The stuff at the bottom of the bin is MUCH wetter than it was before I left. It seems that a bit drained out the bottom but not much (a pool of about 5 inches across).

Appreciatively seeking suggestions and advice-- what has gone wrong, and what to do next?

Thanks!
-Lexi

Comments (8)

• barbararose21101
    10 years ago

We need more information.
    How many of these posts have you read ?
    Drawer ? wood ? lid ? capacity ?
    Bedding ? How much ?
    Food: What and how much ?
    Picture ?
    Do you have access to horse manure ?
    A riding stable within driving distance ?
    Any worms left ?
    Do you have a yard, a garden, other compost ?

• Jasdip
    10 years ago

I'm just hazarding a guess here, but you mentioned holes drilled in the bottom. Are they just drainage holes? Were there any other holes drilled along the top edge for air, or was the lid left off?

It sounds like overfeeding and suffocating might have been an issue. Overheating would do it as well.

I killed half my herd once many years ago when I put rice in the bin that we didn't like. It was my first time cooking brown rice and it was a gloopy mess. I didn't check on the lads for a couple of day and the bin overheated drastically because of the rice.