Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rookie09

Pre-composting

rookie09
15 years ago

I am starting two bins. A small flow through and a 7'x1'x1' wooden box. Both are prepped and waiting for worms (2 weeks). I will have up to 50 lbs of veggies and coffee waste a week (too much I know). I was thinking if I hot composted in my tumbler the water would reduce down and the micobes would build up. Experts please show me the errors of my ways. Thanks in advance.

Comments (12)

• eric62687
    15 years ago

Hey I'm no expert infact I'm fairly new to this myself. I would definatily pre compost the stuff, 50 pounds of veggie scraps will heat up for sure. And if you put that much fresh scraps in your worm bin at once it will probably go anarobic and kill most, if not all, of your worms. What kind of worms are you getting and how many?

• cathd66
    15 years ago

Definitely precompost and get it broken down (and mixed) as much as you can.
    You might also consider using a windrow approach- a long pile in which you add waste at one end, it composts and then the worms move into it at their own rate. Like continuous flow, but horizontal instead of vertical, and not as much expensive equipment involved.

• briansttt
    15 years ago

I'm not an expert either since I've only been at it for a month or so my self but after watching some videos on the net it looks like that's what all the "commercial" farms do. One it helps build the bacteria, two it makes it much easier and faster for the worms, three it avoids the risk of over heating the bin, and lastly is kills any weed seed that might get mixed into your bin so that your castings aren't contaminated. I think it was something like three days at 120 or 140 kills all the weeds but I'm not positive... good luck with it, as soon as it gets warm enough here that's what I'm going to start doing my self.
    Brian

• rookie09
    Original Author
    15 years ago