Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
starphi_gw

my worms aren't hungry!

starphi
10 years ago

Hey Fellow Wormies,

I am new to worms, my Can O'Worms and 1000 worms have been going for about 6 weeks now. I started with just 1/3 of the moist coconut block as bedding, along with shredded paper and cardboard. I read not to over-feed due to "transfer shock," so I've been taking it slowly.

My worms look great, I try not to disturb too much but they are busy every time I open the bin. However, I have only fed them 3 times, from a kitchen compost bin (10"x6") with chopped veggie scraps. I also add some paper/cardboard (moist) bedding each time. My first bin is almost full from just the three times and on the instructions it says it should take 3-6 months. My worms don't seem to be picking up the pace with their eating and I'm wondering if I should feed again or wait. The last time I fed was almost 3 weeks ago, and I can still see lots of this food and bedding. The bin has some mites, not too many, and does have that "pleasant rainforest smell."

I'm anxious to really start composting but don't want to overfeed. I thought they ate half their weight per day? Any thoughts for me? Appreciate it!!

Comments (15)

• sbryce_gw
    10 years ago

It takes a while for a new bin to get established. It sounds like yours isn't there yet. If you can still see undecomposed food, don't feed yet. Over time things will speed up. Your description of the bin sounds like you are doing everything right.

• worm_composting_help
    10 years ago

Hello,

I think you are doing a great job with your worm farm but remember that the worms only eat your scraps as they start to decompose. So it can take a while before there will be notable changes inside your worm bin. Your worm herd should under ideal conditions double every 3 month during the warmer summer month but their action will significantly slow down during the colder times of the year.

Just be patient and your worms will speed up the action.