Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mherron2213

New to this - Bread question

mherron2213
10 years ago

I am very new to Vermicomposting ( about 3 weeks ). I am trying to create a list of 'browns' and 'greens'. My latest question is: Is bread a brown or a green?

Thanks
Mike

Comments (11)

• petrock1963
    10 years ago

It would be a starch which I guess would put it on the green side.

• sbryce_gw
    10 years ago

Bread is a green.

• vermiman
    10 years ago

Be careful mixing browns with greens. You might cook your worms.

• iLoveLawn
    10 years ago

(also new to vermicompost)

Why vermicompost browns? Unless it's for bedding?

Leaves need to be composted before the worms can digest them anyway. Why not just vermicompost nutrient rich fruits/veggies for higher quality castings?

• sbryce_gw
    10 years ago

Because if you only vermicompost greens, you will have a slimy, stinky mess on your hands.

Successful composting, vermi or otherwise, requires a balanced mix of greens and browns. In a conventional compost pile, the greens and browns are mixed together in an optimum ratio, and compost happens quickly, producing heat. In a worm bin we start with a large quantity of browns and add greens gradually over time. If any heat is produced, it easily dissipates.

• iLoveLawn
    10 years ago

i've never heard that. I just heard to feed them food waste, coffee grounds, fruits, vegies, cereals.

So you actually throw in leaves as a pile of food for them? How much food waste to brown ratio do you use? Traditional composting calls for 25 or 30 brown to 1 green. Pretty high ratio for vermicomposting right?

So is cardboard and newspaper not JUST for bedding but should be for regular feedings too? Would you say equal parts brown to green?

• mherron2213
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I read to just put in the coffee filter - and be sparing on the grounds. I have a lot of cardboard and b/w newspaper I mix it deep in the compost. Any other suggestions?

Mike