Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmreeves

New Bin, How much food for an OSCR,jr

gmreeves
14 years ago

I am new to worm composting and very OCD. I think from reading the earlier posts that I should fit right in.

I built an OSCR,jr last night and am getting ready to put in the bedding, food, and worms. I see there is a difference in opinion on what one should use for starting bedding, when to add food, how much food, what womrs, etc. I was planning on using newspaper, shredded paper and pieces of cardboard boxes. As far as the worms are concerned, I am a member of a community garden where they have three worm bins. They are not slam full of worms but they said I could take some to start my bin. Assuming I take a few handfuls of worms and some of there partially broken down compost, how much food should I start off with? The reason I ask is I filled a pretty large tupperware with celery tops, carrot pieces, lettuce, cucumbers, and tomato scraps. I beleive this is more than I need and would initially cause problems. Do I only need to put in a handful of scraps to start out? Can I use all that I have and just monitor the condition of the bin? Should I freeze the unused scraps and use them later as the worms begin to multiply and eat more?

I know it is a lot of questions but figured this would be the place to ask.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (8)

• sbryce_gw
    14 years ago

What I would do...

Absolutely grab some of the partially broken down compost with the worms.

If you can shred the cardboard, that would be helpful. Paper by itself tends to clump, especially newspaper. Shredded cardboard helps break up the clumps.

Put in just a handful of the scraps. Freeze the rest.

The worms will eat the partially broken down compost at first.

• cathd66
    14 years ago

Yes, I'd agree with S bryce.