Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
schrifty

Stinky, wet.

schrifty
9 years ago

I'm brand new at this and have what I hope will be a quick question.

I have recently started a vermiculture compost bin with mostly food scraps, a half pound of red worms, and some torn up paper bags & cardboard. Since I live in Miami, where it's very hot right now, I've been keeping the bin in a large, dark closet indoors. The bin has holes drilled in the top (covered with mosquito netting to keep the bugs out) and the bottom for aeration, and it drains into a second bin beneath it.

The problem is it stinks, seems too wet, & has a ton of wee fly larvae. I've wiped off the visible larvae and temporarily moved it outside. From what I've read here, I think the problem may be that I've wetted my bedding too much (ha!) and included too many food scraps but not enough bedding. The worms seem to be doing well, but I guess there's just too much food in there? What should I do at this point to help my worms catch up with all the stinky food matter? Should I just throw more bedding on top of the whole mess? Help?

This is my first attempt at vermiculture, and I'd love any practical, detailed advice you may have.

Thank you!

Comments (12)

• Mooshy
    9 years ago

I think you have answered your own questions. I do not know how many worms you have or how much food you have put into your bin, but yes, remove most of the food and add more bedding. Only feed as much as the worms can consume within a few days. If you go to feed your worms and there is still recognizable food remaining, then, don't feed.

• sbryce_gw
    9 years ago

Yup. What Mooshy said. Only, I wouldn't remove any of the food unless you are pretty certain that something in particular is creating a particular problem. If it is just a strong decomposition stink, them add a lot more bedding and let the worms catch up. If there is a strong ammonia odor, or something particularly noxious, you may need to remove food.

• schrifty