Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilcee

Stirring the worm compost

lilcee
11 years ago

This is my first time raising worms. Today I stirred up my compost and then some of the worms tried to escape. Did I do a wrong thing in stirring them? I don't have any water dripping from the bottom like some people talk about, does that mean it's too dry? I do have some condensation on the sides tho.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (10)

• PeterK2
    11 years ago

Worms are best left alone, so there's no real need to mix it. If you keep things as they are, worms will go to the places where there's food and keep away from any areas they don't like. Mixing might put fresh feedings down into areas where there is little oxygen and it can turn anerobic. So unless there's a specific reason for it (like an emergency adding of more bedding) best to leave them as they are and just add from the top.

No soggy bottom in the bin is a good thing, don't really want water draining out or even worse standing water. Condensation is normal. Basically as long as it's damp (the wet sponge example) you're fine. Worms are actually shipped in pretty dry peatmoss so it's not like they'll drop dead at any hint of dryness. Sounds like you're doing fine on the moisture.

• lilcee
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for the reply. I'll leave them alone then. I have a bad habit of wanting to "look" and see what they are up to lol.

• OklaMoni
    11 years ago

Nothing wrong with looking here or there in your bin, just don't stir it up to much. Just peek carefully. :)

Moni

• bigtexworms
    11 years ago

I only recommend stirring the bin once every two weeks.
    Worms like to be left alone to do their business.

You should not have leachate runoff, that is a sign of overfeeding and/or overwatering.

I always have a few worms crawling around the tops of my bins, totally normal.
    I attached one of my videos about this topic.