Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jb59_gw

insects near/around worm bin

jb59
11 years ago

I am a newbie at Vermicomposting. I had what I thought was a good worm bin started (which I keep out in the chicken coop) but a couple days ago, I noticed a steady line of chiggers (that's what I'm told they are called) on and around the worm bin. I'm curious if these bugs are dangerous to the worms. Admittedly, I still have much to learn when it comes to this stuff.

Thanks for any replies!

Comments (5)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    11 years ago

Chiggers? I do not know what they are but wikipedia says they can be baby mites. I susupect it is not the same type of mites that befriend worm bins. A steady line of? Going into? Out of? First bin I have heard of in a chicken coop. You get points for that. I would think the chickens would have a field day with an insects they have ready access to. Your USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map found at planthardiness.ars.usda.gov/ might help us with clues to identify what might be common to your area at this time of year. Maybe a cat litter box of diatiomatious earth for the chickens to wallow in and dust themselves? You do not mention the chiggers bitting people. There are red plant mites, I think. They do not eat people. I am puzzled, but glad you brought the topic to discussion on the board. I hope we can find you a person knowledgeable / experienced in the topic you are experiencing.

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    11 years ago

I am pretty sure the solution to whatever this is, is to add more bedding.

Also, have you ever fed excess worms to the hungry chickens? That would be one reason I would grow worms in the futre. Sort of solves the whole harvesting issue. The chickens probably leave only pure castings.

• jb59
    Original Author
    11 years ago