Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help starting a worm bin

Posted by piranha338 8/9 (My Page) on
Fri, May 9, 08 at 18:14

Hello everybody, I am interested in trying vermicomposting. I currently have some "normal" compost decomposing in a 60 gallon drum. My family tried vermicomposting years ago, but we got infested with flies and maggots. I want to try it again, but being a college student I don't want to spend much money. Could anybody offer advice on how to make a cheap vermicomposting bin? Thanks, any help is appreciated!
Brian

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help starting a worm bin

get a 17 gallon rubbermaid tub, fill it with the finished "normal" compost, throw in some worms, and you're started with "abnormal" composting .... make sure the compost is past any chance of heating up, keep it quite moist, add kitchen waste as you have it [in quantities that won't heat up] and watch what happens

alternatively, you could make a wooden box about the same size as the rubbermaid tub, or a bit larger, if you have access to free scrap wood .... whatever for a framework and plywood for the sides

Bill

o

you'll need to make it fly proof this time so you dont have the same problem. make a lid for it and attach some screen over any ventilation holes or openings you put in the bin to keep the flies out.

o

rubbermaid bin with lid-- drill small-ish holes in bottom-- keep lid on-- fill with shredded b&w newspaper, leaves, and put kitchen waste in, always put it under the dry stuff- add more dry material if it starts to look too wet. keep a layer of the dry stuff that on top to discourage flies. you might get the soldier fly maggots but just try to ignore them, eventually they should go away (they don't hurt anything).