Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
idratherbegardening

Red worms versus red wigglers? escapes? (newbie)

Hi folks, I am new to vermiculture and am giving it a try, mainly because I covet the castings for my garden. Sorry if this question has been asked a hundred times before - I did a search but couldn't find the answer.

I called around to local bait shops to buy worms and could only find "red worms" not "red wigglers". The good ole boys at the bait shop said red wigglers are too small to use for fishing, but that red worms work for fishing AND composting.

I bought a just small amount to start with. What do you think? Will they work??

Also, I was surprised to read in this forum that worms may try to escape a new bin set-up. (Must have missed that part when I was doing the research - my husband will freak!) Hope my red worms like their new home or else the worm bin may be banished forever. Maybe I should put it outside for the next or so, just in case?

Comments (7)

• raubuch
    14 years ago

Red Wigglers are a type of red worm, but most of the time they get used interchangeably. There are really a couple different types of red worms used for vermicomposting: Eisenia foetida (red wigglers) and Eisenia hortensis (European Nightcrawler).

They both do very well for vermicomposting. If you're fishing with them, it really depends on what you're fishing for. The Red wigglers are 2 to 3" long and work well for smaller fish. The Europeans are a little larger.

Hope this help. Here is a link with a little more explanation.

Here is a link that might be useful: Composting Worms

• african
    14 years ago