Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milocrab_gw

About using vermicompost

milocrab
12 years ago

Hi everyone, after I have my first harvest in a few months time, I plan to use the finished compost to start growing some vegetables indoor, in front of a large window with supplement lighting. Please bare with me, as I'm a complete newbie in gardening (I've only planted mung beans when I was a kid, that is all my experience so far). Okay, I did some research; I am planning to mix 1 part vermicompost, 1 part coir, 1 part sphagnum moss and 1 part vermiculite as the potting mix. Then I will make some aerated vermicompost tea for regular spraying and watering. So, here comes my questions:

- Can I use the aerated tea several times a week or even daily? Will this be too much? And how often do I need to re-apply the vermicompost to the potting mix?

- In order to grow nice and healthy greens (collards, cabbage, tatsoi, etc), do I still need to add other fertilizers besides sprinkling vermicompost once in a while?

- I understand it is better to change out the potting mix after each harvest; but I don't want to throw anything away. So, I'm wondering if I can use a sieve to filter out the coir and vermicompost, then throw them back into my worm bin? I read about "salt build up" in used soil, will this salt harm the worms?

- The larger particles of the vermiculite and sphagnum moss will be thoroughly rinsed and microwaved, and then reuse again. This ok?

- One last one, a lot of brown paper food bags have colored ink printed on them; are they safe to put in the worm bin?

Sorry for so many questions, that's all I need to ask for the moment...stay tune for more questions to come from this newbie. >_Bonnie

Comments (4)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    12 years ago

Vegetables need tons of light. Maybe even more than a big window and supplemental light can provide. Can you put even one planter outdoors to see the difference full sun makes?