Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wendrew8_gw

Uncle Jim's

wendrew8
13 years ago

I am a newbie to the forum, and to vermicomposting for that matter. I ordered 2000 red wigglers from Uncle Jim's to add to my newly established Can O Worms, and they came last Monday. They looked small and dry when I opened them but being new, I had NO idea what they were supposed to look like. Forward a few days and I have what seems to me to be alot of dead worms, so I contacted Uncle Jims and they graciously are sending me new ones early next week. After reading a bunch of not so positive reviews regarding this company, (after I ordered, of course), I just wanted to share my positive experience. I will post again after the new worms arrive...hopefully, they will do better in transit than the first batch, because seeing them all dying is really making me more sad than I thought it might!! Never knew that I would be so emotional about...worms!

Comments (31)

• randomz
    13 years ago

That is always going to be a tough call as to whether they died off as a result of something in your bin or not.

• wendrew8
    Original Author
    13 years ago

What, in a new bin, may have killed them?? I used the COIR for bedding and added a bit of food scrap which included some cilantro, a few grapes, some broccoli stems, and a bit of asparagus. I also added a few tp tubes. Sound okay?? I am a bit nervous now to add the new worms if I haven't established it correctly.

• antoniab
    13 years ago

It sounds like your bin is OK. When I ordered from Uncle Jim's, I found my worms were less than lively. About 1/3 died within a week. When I have ordered from other sources, the worms arrived in better shape with almost no casualties.
    How Uncle Jim counts 1000 worms and how others count also seems to be somewhat different as well.

• wendrew8
    Original Author
    13 years ago