Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fam62cc

Using castings

fam62cc
12 years ago

I planted a little garden on 5-30-11. I am very new to gardening. The plot is about the size of a pool table and I planted 4 tomato plants and 6 Jalapenos. I mixed in about 18 gallons of castings that I had accumulated with the native soil. I intend to fertilize with leachate from time to time.

Dave Nelson

Comments (13)

• milocrab
    12 years ago

I read somewhere that leachate may contain phytotoxin and could be harmful to plants. So it is better to use vermicompost tea (finished VC + water) instead of leachate to fertilize. I'm new to gardening and vermicompost too, I haven't tried the leachate on the plants myself, so its just some information I found on the web. I hope I'm not giving out wrong info... :)

• plumiebear
    12 years ago

Many years ago I dumped leachate (nasty stuff) on plants. I don't recall any of them suffering. Still, I quit collecting leachate long ago. I just soak up the stuff with dry bedding and add that back into the worm bin. It doesn't seem to harm the worms in any way.

Andrew

• fam62cc
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Maybe I am using the wrong terminology. I call the stuff that drains from the cow tower leachate and thought that tea was just leachate diluted. Will somebody please straighten me out?

Dave Nelson

• plumiebear
    12 years ago

Dave,

Vermicompost tea (VCT) has branched out to Aerated VCT (AVCT) and Actively Aerated VCT (AAVCT). There's actual academic research being done on AAVCT and some forums really dig into all the complexities.

My very simple recipe for "instant" VCT is to harvest high worm casting content VC (material processed for at least 3-4 months and screened to 1/8") and dunk it in water. Paint strainer bags are great as reusable tea bags.