Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shesoldier

worm tea attempt...roses and herbs?

shesoldier
14 years ago

hi there!

i have been worming for 2 years (woo!) but have always used VC direct. i am considering making some worm tea for the first time because some of the leaves on my plants are struggling, and from what i understand worm tea offers some protective benefits once sprayed upon the leaves.

while i am getting to be an experienced wormer, i am not an experienced gardener, so hopefully you amazing worm folks can help me out!

1. each year my rose bushes develop yellow to brown spots that eventually take over the leaves and basically leave the tree balding. i don't know what this is, but it's not good. will spraying the leaves with worm tea help fight this evil doer?

2. i have little weird white spores growing on the herb plants in my apartment. they eventually kill the herbs. can i spray herbs, or any other edibles for that matter, with worm tea? can i still eat them later?

thanks for all of your advice. i love this forum; you guys always dish out the good stuff!

Comments (2)

• leearnold
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The following is from the Garden's Alive website:

You CAN Protect Your Roses From Dread Diseases
    Like Black Spot--Without Nasty Chemicals, of Course!

Q. Mike: My climbing rose looks great from afar15 feet high and wide and full of foliage and blooms. But alas, it would be hard to find a leaf that doesn't show the telltale signs of black spot. In a few weeks the blooms will be finished and the foliage will begin to fall off. Bummer! I spray it thoroughly with the Cornell formula and am in the process of concocting some FCT (Fermented Compost Tea). Maybe that will do the trick.