Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melenkolee

Simple vermipost bin for Scout project

melenkolee
14 years ago

Hi all, I'm new to joining this forum but have spent a fair amount of time scouring it for information. My son is working on his Gardening merit badge for Boy Scouts, and one of the requirements is to build and maintain a vermipost bin for 90 days. Does anybody have any suggestions for a simple, not huge, inexpensive bin that can be kept indoors? There are only the 2 of us in the household, so we probably wouldn't be able to support a large bin. Any beginner tips and tricks? If all goes well, we will probably maintain the bin for longer than 90 days, as this sounds like a pretty neat way to raise snacks for our box turtle as well as reduce the amount of trash we produce.

Thanks for your advice!

~Jen

Comments (12)

• cathd66
    14 years ago

A simple plastic box (wider than it is deep) with plenty of ventilation, and drainage holes is the easiest start. Have you looked at redwormcomposting.com? It has some great videos about getting started.
    Another option, but needing a little more DIY skills, is the OSCR junior bin. Run a google search and you'll get plans for it.

• steamyb
    14 years ago

Easy Start:
    1. Place a piece of cardboard on the ground. Wait 1 day. Look under cardboard and gather worms.
    2. Put worms in opaque ventilated container. Repeat #1.
    3. Add wet ripped newspaper and dirt and any organic scraps. Repeat #1.
    4. Worms need moisture, air, proper temperature (60 to 75 approx.), and food. Repeat #1.
    Worms are easy. Have Fun!

• jonas302
    14 years ago

Hey what a great program I don't remember that from when I was in scouts

Worms are so very very easy dispite that some people make it sound hard I sometimes don't bother with mine for 2 weeks at a time