Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmreeves

Reducing Landfill Waste?

gmreeves
14 years ago

I'm new to vermicomposting and I am doing it to reduce household waste and more importantly to me, my garden. It seems that a lot of people say they do this to reduce landfill waste which I think is great that people are beind concious about the way they live. But the question I have is, does it really matter that you aren't sending your organic or biodegradable stuff to the landfill? Aren't the items you are putting into your worm bin, composted at the landfill just as it would in your worm bin? I understand that you don't get the benefit of having the worm castings at your disposal but the waste is still going to be broken down. I was just thinking about it and would like to get everyones thoughts.

Comments (19)

• mndtrp
    14 years ago

Overall, waste doesn't break down very quickly in a landfill. What does break down, does so anaerobically, releasing a lot of methane gas. The waste is usually packed very tightly together, and covered in layers of dirt or other such substance. You can see how this works with a handful of shredded paper. It will mat together and take forever (in the vermi/composting world) to break down.

I doubt a worm bin will be enough to keep up with all of your biodegradable waste. I have trouble keeping up with a compost bin as well as a worm bin. I still have to make a paper run to the recycle center once a month.

• 11otis
    14 years ago

Besides, it needs to be transported TO the landfill, burning gas.
    Now, somebody might say "Well, if the truck is coming to p/u the neighbour's who is not composting, one drop of gas more or less doesn't really matter".
    IMHO, we have to start somewhere. Won't do us or mother earth any good if everybody would think like that.

• gmreeves
    Original Author
    14 years ago