Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mold in Worm Bin

Posted by WormyMom NM (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 17, 12 at 22:03

I am a noob to this too so bare with me. I had my worms in a shredding paper, coffee grounds, dirt mix until they started trying to escape.

Over the weekend, I made a batch of organic peat moss, yard waste and dirt. I wet it down enough to make a sort of dry paste. The yard waste consists of thistle bird seed from my feeds, leaves and pine needles. My question is now, there is a lot of mold growth in it. Is this something I need to worry about? Isn't mold just another part of the composting process? My worms aren't trying to escape and the moved from the old bedding to the new fast.
Relp! I love these little guys as much as you can love worms. And thank you!

WormyMom

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mold in Worm Bin

As you said, mold is just part of the decomposition process. IMNSHO, it IS possible to have too much mold, but that condition usually corrects itself eventually.

BTW, from your description, I would guess that you are putting way too much dirt in your bin. You don't need any at all.

o

Yes you can use coffee grounds. But I have visions of a new bin with a pots worth of bins added daily. If so, maybe back off on the coffee grounds, shreded paper and dirt. Add corrigated cardboard, coffee tray, and kitchen vegetable and fruit trimmings. These are compost worms, if you ordered compost worm. Not earthworms. Compost worms live in compost above the ground. Earthworms live in the soil. Learning Process.

o

• Posted by rou1 none (My Page) on
    Thu, Nov 28, 13 at 14:43

My worms love mold!

o

Be sure to keep some bedding available for them. Mold is good.

o

Don't put pine needles in your compost bins.

o

>>Don't put pine needles in your compost bins.<<