Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
house_first_timer

Do I need to drill holes at the bottom of RM worms container?

house_first_timer
13 years ago

Newbie here, it took me a while to get the worms and started a rubbermaid container about a month ago. I drilled some holes along the side of container. But I didn't drill any drain hole at the bottom. Are they required? I just don't want smelly juice/liquid leaking onto my garage floor.

Comments (8)

• 11otis
    13 years ago

Some people do and others don't.
    I have drilled about 120 - 5/8" holes at the bottom of my RM bins. Since I have a stack of 4 bins + 1 leachate bin, I drilled the lids at the same time I drilled the bottom so as to get them to line up, sort of, so the worms will and can travel up when the lower bin is finished. So that lid will be the lid to the bin underneath it. I marked/named the corners so I know which one is which and where.

The leachate bin has holes only on the upper sides about 3" wide with 1/16" bit.

I have this set-up for over a year now, starting with 1 bin only with adult worms I found (not that many) in my Worm Factory at that time. I made a partition with cardboard so the space wouldn't be too big for so little amount of worms.

I am happy with how they turned out, better than the Worm Factory even.

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    13 years ago

Adding bedding will prevent liquid.

An 18 gallon RM is pretty much unmoveable.

A 10 gallon is more versatile because it can be moved. One bin can be flipped into another making the bottom now the top.

• pjames
    13 years ago

I drilled holes in the bottom of my first bins because I kept reading that was how you set up a worm bin. Since then, I do not bother and I see no difference in the health and wellbeing of my worms.

I would not waste the tub by drilling holes in the bottom. Then you always have a tub that can be used for some other purpose.