Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomatonut

When do I stop feeding in one tray and start another?

tomatonut
15 years ago

Since I am new to vermicomposting I have a lot of questions and have found most answers right here, but I am looking for some advice regarding one nagging question I still have...

I have one of those flow through bins that all you to add several trays on top of one another. My question is:

When do I stop placing food in the working tray and start a new tray on top? I mean, do I simply fill the working tray up, feed occasionally, and wait for the guys to process everything and then start the second tray for them to migrate into? Then, when I am ready to start a new tray will they stay on the bottom until all the food is consumed before moving upwards? If the idea is to ensure my little workers leave their castings behind and nothing else before moving upwards I don't want to tempt them with a new tray too early. How do I tell when it is time to start the second tray?

Thanks for the help

Comments (3)

• seamommy
    15 years ago

I also have one of those flow-thru bins and I haven't quite figured out how to lure them to go up to the next tray. I was kinda thinking the other day that I might put the working tray on top and let them migrate down to the new tray. They seem to want to go that way anyway, even when the food is up above them, and there's not much left of the bedding in the tray that they're in.

Maybe I've tried to rush them too much. I emptied my bottom tray this past weekend and picked out all the biggest guys and put them back in my next tray. The food and shredded cardboard had been consumed and all that was still recognizable in the tray was some scraps of newspaper. I went ahead and used the compost though because I had a good 4" of it on top of the newspaper.