Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cdg_1972

Questions & ideas

CDG_1972
9 years ago

I am fairly new in the vermicomposting business, but I got interested in the topic and bought a WF360 about 3 months ago, thinking that this would be a piece of cake. Since I understand the chemistry of the bin, everything has been pretty straightforward. Unfortunately for me, I am not a worm psychologist and most of my red buddies are not doing what I was expecting!

So, aiming to improve their quality of life (and the composting rate), I had a couple of questions/ideas.
1- Some worms were falling onto the draining pan. Although this seems to be a common (minor) problem, I added a mosquito screen at the bottom of the first tray (no other screens should be added). One the bottom tray is ready, I move the screen to the next one. Although I have not seen much accumulation of liquid, is anyone here able to think of a potential downside of this? It seems to be a simple solution, but I have not been able to find any information.

2- I got some sawdust from a friend of mine and I added it to the top bin. Since my addition created an exodus of worms, I did some research and found that a large portion of that was from pine. Although now (after a week) the worms seem to be coming back, should I through it away and start fresh or just let it be?