Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love2garden_nc

white 5 gallon buckets/how many worms

love2garden-nc
11 years ago

I read online that you shouldn't use white 5 gallon buckets because worms don't like white/light. it said you should use dark colors. Has anyone had a problem with white buckets? Also, how many worms can you put in a stacked 5-gallon bucket setup? I was planning to order 2000 red wigglers--it was only $10 more than 1000 worms. But is that too many worms for a 5-gallon bucket setup?

I appreciate any info--I've never done a worm bin before, so I look to the advice of folks that have already done it. thanks:-)

Comments (12)

• bluedood
    11 years ago

The worms do not like light, so it's not the color of the bucket completely, but more it's ability to let light pass through. Most recommend a darker color as opposed to translucent.

As far as using a five gallon bucket there have been some videos where a guy made an upward migration system with them, no idea how well it works. I will say that you are better off getting a cheap plastic container with more surface area over a bucket that gives depth. That is not to say a five gallon bucket will fail, you may just have more of a challenge getting it down and less folks who have used the same system to bounce questions off of.

• bluedood
    11 years ago

To answer your question about the number of worms, two pounds is a good amount and more than I would put into a five gallon system. If you had an 18 gallon tote that costs five dollars at walmart it would be just the right amount :)

• rookie09
    11 years ago

What is your goal? Worms, castings or waste conversion?
    I use white buckets that I put a handful (+/-) in each one to increase the number of worms I have.
    I tend to leave bins, tubs or buckets with only the holes they come with.
    The worms aren't in the bright light so to my knowledge have not had issue with the color of the bucket.