Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aetherswift

Chicken or rabbit manure harmful to worms?

aetherswift
10 years ago

I'm a complete noob when it comes to gardening, so please forgive me if this is a really stupid question.

I'm planning out my chicken and rabbit cages and am wondering if it would work to have worm bins under my rabbit and/or chicken cages (which would have mesh bottoms to allow the manure to fall through directly to the worm bin).

I know that rabbit manure is "cold" but chicken manure is "hot" and must be composted. Would either manure applied to a worm bin like that be harmful to my worms?

Thanks for your help!

Comments (14)

• sbryce_gw
    10 years ago

People have successfully put worm bins under rabbit cages. I think the biggest problem you would have is the salts in the urine. Chicken cages might be a different matter. It may depend in part on how much manure is being dropped into the bin. With enough bedding, you might be OK with a worm bin under chickens.

• chuckiebtoo
    10 years ago

Back in the old days of my posting on this and other forums (fora?), I had a tag-line that was...and still is...my absolute conviction as to how to manage worm bins.

It is the total truth about this thing we do, and if you follow it, you'll never have a failure, or disaster, or uh-oh. .

It is: Diversity, Moderation, Patience.

If you adhere to these principles, worming is a snap.

Chuckiebtoo

Diversity, Moderation, Patience

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    10 years ago