Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
texanconnection

starting out

TEXANConnection
9 years ago

Im intrested in more of a commercial set up ,and have read so many books and videos as of late, looks like several ways to go about it. This is my first try. 4 55 gallon drums cut in half. started with leaves and peat moss and a good supply of rabbit manure. The barrels have drains I catch the worm tea in and that's working out very well. i have been adding veg scraps and they make short time of that. started with 6000 red wigglers. I have been able to keep them going doing well for a month now.
A few hrs ago I put some shredded un-composted veggies and buried them in a cple bins. BUT I did something interesting, I washed out the bucket with the pulp and poured it in one bin, they were all over it in about 30 minutes.
I have recently acquired 2 large square bales of alfalfa hay, and am shredding it to start a compost pile, mixed with manure. i think it may make a good bed for next year when I out grow the barrels. i also have access to mushroom compost cheap by the truck load, Has anyone used it?

i am very intrested in experienced wormers giving me what ever advice you might offer.

Comments (13)

• sbryce_gw
    9 years ago

You seem to be doing very well. Just a couple of comments.

Manure mixed with alfalfa is going to be high in N. You will want to mix it with something high in C before you compost it.

Conventional wisdom on mushroom compost says that by the time the mushrooms are done with it, there is little in it left for the worms. I would start with a smaller amount and see how the worms respond before committing to truckloads.

• TEXANConnection
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you, understanding that now, and this helped as well,

http://www.compostjunkie.com/compost-ingredients.html

• TEXANConnection
    Original Author
    9 years ago

it seems rotting hay is a good C ingredient, and I have access to some old very rotten wheat straw.