Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sniffmeister

Billions of ants in my worm box!

sniffmeister
16 years ago

Hi all, I'm a total newbie and have had a worm box for about a month now.

We have a ton of ants in my backyard and my worm box with it's delicious fruit scraps seems to be a happening place for them!

Other than putting the box legs in buckets of water (tough logistically with my container's design, do you have any tips for keeping the ants out? Please note, it's a homemade wood box (DH made it) so not the lid isn't a super tight fit like a commercially made box.

Any suggestions welcome, thanks!

Comments (26)

• squeeze
    16 years ago

lots of powdered cinnamon and/or turmeric around the bin - they both repel ants well - the way to reduce the population in your yard is to get some boric acid from a pharmacy [used for eye wash], mix some in a heavy sugar syrup, put around the area in sheltered shallow containers for the ants to feed on and take back to their nest for the queens

also keep food additions to the bin covered well, and if the ants are actually into the bedding, it's probably too dry

Bill

• gardenfanatic2003
    16 years ago

Bury your food scraps. If your bedding is damp, the ants won't go there. Ants in compost is a sign that the compost is too dry. They won't go where it's damp.

Deanna

• wfike
    16 years ago

Put a little oil in the pans of water (cooking or motor) and it wont evaporate near as fast. Also why are you putting up with ants in the yard? KILLUM!

• sniffmeister
    Original Author
    16 years ago

My husband sprays for ants every few months, but I don't want sprays in the yard now that the ants are in the worm box - I don't want them bringing any poison in to the box.

Plus ants are going to be around regardless of how much I spray, learning to deal with them is the best bet because I know I can't win the war!

• wfike
    16 years ago