Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cranberrybonnet

Who are these guys?

Nrobadii
9 years ago

Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to vermicomposting, and a lot of what I know has come from posts on this forum, so I appreciate this helpful community.

I have a few photos of things I've found in my bin and am hoping someone can help me identify them.

These first 2 photos show some strange white balls that appeared on the sides of the bin. They weren't there in the morning but were there after lunch. There were hundreds of them and they were quite small, maybe a millimeter or 2. They started white, but as you can see in the second photo, they turned black after only a couple of hours. They disappeared pretty soon after that.

This next photo is of a bunch of tiny white worm-like things. I'm wondering if they are baby red wigglers, or pot worms or something else. There are hundreds of them and seemed to appear out of nowhere. They're less than a millimeter thick and only half a centimeter long at most. I've read that baby red wigglers are usually pinkish so I'm assuming these aren't those.

The last 2 pictures are of a grub that's so ugly it's kind of cute. It's very fat, as you can see compared to the worm behind it, and probably about 2 cm long. It moves pretty quickly and seems to really dislike being in the light.

If anyone could shed some light on what these things are I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (6)

• barbararose21101
    9 years ago

a Google image search suggest the grub could be a chafer beetle grub. I like to put them in a bug jar and see what they become (when they survive).

• Jasdip
    9 years ago

The only thing that I "might" be able to help you out with are the pot worms. That's what they are. Your bin is too wet, if you're attracting pot worms, if I remember correctly.