Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Worm tea, am I suppose to have any?

Posted by wolfman13 none (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 13, 14 at 15:17

My wife was given a gallon of worm tea, and needless to say, it did great things. She bought me a stackable system with a spigot on the bottom. This is where she thought the tea would come from. I'm on my 2nd level and have maybe a few drops. She wants to know why I don't have any. I told her from what I've read, my bedding is only to be slightly damp, to barely allow a ball to be formed. Any more moisture and the worms will bale or die. I've tried to research it a little bit and it looks like those kind of amounts are "made" through straining, etc. Is this correct? I'm new to vermicomposting and brand new to the site. Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Worm tea, am I suppose to have any?

My worms like the bedding quite moist. If there is an extra wet spot in the bin, that is where I expect to see lots of worms. I do have drains at the bottom to avoid standing water in the bin, but rarely get anything out the drain. If you want some worm tea you might either try putting in some high moisture food scraps, or just adding some water that will percolate through and produce the tea. The worms won't mind a quick extra watering if the water can drain.
Renais

o

Worm tea and what drains thru the spigot in the bottom of your bin (leachate) are two things very different.

The stuff from the spigot has minimal good qualities but not all the things that make AVCT (aerated vermicompost tea) work the wonders you speak of.

Do a search on this site for "AVCT". You'll get lots of info. Feel free, after reading thru some of it, to ask further questions

Carlos Danger.

o

See the thread with Worm Factory in the title.

There is a lot to learn and some choices, decisions to make.

If the lady of the house is the one that wants the product,
make sure she does her share of the work.

o