Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanwedding

what you all think about this setup? no holes

newbie here

I am posting this to several forums... need all the adviser I can get....

I got my 2 pounds of mixed worms and 2 starter.....

Have them in a new 24 wide by 6 ft oval metal tank that has drain plug in center bottom... Up on two high concrete blocks Did not want to drill into this tank since it is new.

Now can tilt if needed forward toward drain... Hubby made tank slope slightly downhill since it kind of on some what incline anyway..... 2 concrete blocks high....

Put a nice large heavy pieces of large cardboard on bottom,,, then the new straw and mostly dry leaves. put a cardboard divider down middle....so the right half of tank just has the cardboard flooring. then the worms, starter than some hand torn newspaper on top , sprinkled all this with some rainwater I collected...then another piece of heavy cardboard... Then the piece of metal roofing......

will all this mold??? since I have no air holes in it..... It is outside out out the sun It will get no sun.....

I put in and buried a handful of mixture of sweet potato peelings with some eyes sprouting, eggplant peeling skin,

Got plenty of fruit and veggie scraps everyday but prob more than worms could handle. since it is local gardening season... So had to give all the melon rinds, etc to down the road neighbors' chickens, or throw down hill into woods...

thought I saw something move in the right top corner day or so when took off metal roof...piece..... are skinks, frogs bad???

Gonna make a underneath frame for the roof metal piece and maybe attach with metal roofing screws.

and maybe put on hinges>>>>and cut the corners of metal roof so it does not stick out much and cut me. Also to shape more closely the oval shape of the big tank

Please chime in with comments, suggestions.....

I know I should have only put in half of new worms... but then I would have to make another temp bin????