Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mixed Worms (Non-Red Wigglers escaping)

Posted by Aindra none (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 16, 12 at 16:52

I attended my city's vermicomposting workshop yesterday to get my bin kit set up and learn how to manage the worm bin. I've been researching a quite bit beforehand.

The instructor purchased the red wigglers for each one of us. She said these bags tend to have some different worms and bugs in them. That's fine with me.

However, one thing that bothers me is when she said if I see any escaping worms, they're not red wigglers. She said don't bother putting them back in the bin because they'll keep trying to escape. Throw them to the fields.

That bothers me because so far what I've seen in this board is some red wigglers will try to escape if they're placed in new bin until they get settled.

I'm new at worm business so I couldn't tell them apart if they're not wigglers... I'm getting conflicted message here. So far most worms that climbed up to escape all looks like red wigglers so I just put them back in bin, instead of throwing them out.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mixed Worms (Non-Red Wigglers escaping)

Congratulations on your first worm bin! Kudos for doing your homework first.

I would continue to put the worms back also. If you leave a small wattage lite on over the bin at night for a few weeks, they should stay put.

Good luck. Pete

o

I have a pure red wigglers bin, and absolutely some diehard, strong-minded wigglers venture out for other pastures! I don't agree with her at all. Not often, but it happens.

If your first bins are in-home, I'm surprised she included other wildlife. Seems like creating a problem that doesn't have to be there right at the beginning, for a newbie. Hmmm. Someone will tell me if I'm wrong! I know that some folks like the soldier guys, and other critters, but just starting out, plain old wigglers would be easier, in my opinion. Other wanted species will turn up in time.