Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kendraschmidt_gw

Can worms compost shrimp shells?

KendraSchmidt
11 years ago

I'm new to vermicomposting, and I'd like to know if I can put shrimp shells (raw or boiled) into my compost bin, once I place my composting worms in the bin?

I've heard that it can only be veggies, etc, but I use shrimp a lot in my house and usually put the raw (or plain boiled) shells into my compost bin. Will I be unable to do this once the worms are in the compost bin?

Comments (16)

• KendraSchmidt
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Anyone? Please help! :o(

• KendraSchmidt
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Perfect, thank you Mendopete!

• sbryce_gw
    11 years ago

Just like egg shells? Worms don't eat egg shells. But if the shrimp shells break down in the compost pile, then they should be fine in the worm bin. It would not hurt to put a few in one corner of the bin and see how they do.

• mendopete
    11 years ago

I toss at least a dozen eggshells in my bin every week. I have free-range Rhode Island reds, and my worms LOVE their eggshells. I have seen them hanging out in a 1/2 shell. I don't know if they are eaten or just break down, but it is gone when I harvest VC. My garden loves my VC so it is all good!

I have a couple of 8-9" abolone shells that have been cycling through my systems for about 3 years. The shells are bigger and thicker than oyster shells. Whenever I run into then at harvest they have a little worm colony living inside them. They are slowly breaking down and getting smaller.

IMHO I believe if an item is compostable, worms will eat it eventually, if given the opportunity. Everything that was once alive is compostable. Moderation is the key.

• dowbright
    11 years ago

I've read for years that dried, crushed up egg shells are fantastic grit for worms. Just with a simple spoon I can get it very fine in less than a minute, for about two dozen eggs.