Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dmcecchini

When to start a new bin

dmcecchini
13 years ago

I have been worming for about 7 months and have harvested the castings once. My bin is an 18 gallon rubbermaid. I started with 1000 worms and that number has at least doubled with more on the way. the bin seems very full of worms. I'm wondering if I need to start a second bin or if it is okay that there are so many in the one bin. Lately some have been trying to escape. Not sure if this could be from overcrowding or some other issue. When do I know when it is time to split the bin or give some worms away? I could put several more inches of bedding on the top before the bedding reaches the top of the container. Maybe that would give them more room to live in.

Comments (9)

• steamyb
    13 years ago

Why do you have worms in a container?

• sbryce_gw
    13 years ago

The container he is talking about is the 18 gallon Rubbermaid bin. He has them in a container because it is tidier than worming on the floor.

As for starting a second bin, your worms will not reproduce to the point of overcrowding the space available to them. Start a new bin if you want a second bin. Otherwise your worms are fine. If you want to give worms away, I'd wait a few more months. Your bin should be able to support about 4000 worms. At that point you can give a pound of worms away, and they will replace themselves in about a month.

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    13 years ago

I don't know why he has them in a container either.

Unless it is what sbryce said. :-) Even WITH a container I find that a tiny percent of the worms insist on living on the floor along with a tiny percent of my finished vermicompost.

A reason to divide a bin is in case conditions mysteriously go bad in one bin the second will hopefully avoid catastrophy and get you quickly back in business.