Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
celbrise

how to keep compost moist?

Celbrise
11 years ago

im trying to start a vermicompost pile. it's actually a compost pile consisting on 2 different things. 1 worms ( i think majority of them are burrowing worms :/) and milipedes. the milipedes don't get huge and they are small and non toxic.

i know milipedes compost.

the thing is they both need moist environments. i was wondering how do you keep it moist i mean i know you spray the surface here and their but what about the bottom and middle as well?and also how often do you need to moisten it.

PS- yes i know i ask a lot of questions on this section that is just because im new to vermicomposting and want to do it right the first time around i do compost regularly but that is a whole different story and easier but slower imo

Comments (7)

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    11 years ago

I am confused as to why the top of your vermicompost bin keeps drying out and needing water. I keep wondering if you could just flip the bin over into a new bin so the possibly very wet bottom could now be the top? This would have the added advantage of suffocating any fruit fly larvae in the process.

If the bottom of the bin smells really, really bad then it need3d more oxygen. To get that evened out maybe fork the material into a bin that has tons of dry bedding on the bottom.

• Celbrise
    Original Author
    11 years ago

it's evaporating because someone threw away the lid to this square bucket. the top portion is drying off. but i kept kept pong lining on it to both block out sunlight thats comming in from the windows and to stop it from evaporating to quickly. it's on losely so it doesn't suffocate them and i remove it so often during the day to get more air.