Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenivy_gw

first harvest-compost STINKS

GreenIvy
11 years ago

Hi, I'm new to worm farming..

My 4 month compost has a very strong rotting food odour. It was extremely wet when I dumped the bin, so I let it dry out on a plastic bag for 3ish days while picking worms out. There was no mould, or rotting food visible, so why the stink? Extra story below. :)

I was given about 5 worms and set up a 2 foot square plastic bin (with lots of holes) on June 1st. Bedding was about half the bin full, newspaper, flyers and bills. Got to love feeding bills to the worms :) I've been feeding lightly (had a couple of overfeeds though), no meat or milk but just about everything else.

So it's been 4 months and the bin was half full of compost so I did my first harvest. Yay! I didn't feed for 10 days to let the worms finish up. The compost as far as I could tell was totally finished. Black and friable, and no obvious chunks of anything left over. There weren't any bugs except a few fruit flies. There were a *ton* of newspaper lumps throughout which I picked out and put back in the bin.

I counted (ok, weighed) 880 worms and got just over 10lbs of compost. That's amazing! The worms were 99% juveniles. I don't think I got any cocoons- I picked out anything that looked possible but I suspect I'm saving apple seeds.

Anyone got ideas, criticism, cookies?

TIA

Ivy

Comments (20)

• Celbrise
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

why it stinks most likely is because it's too wet. perhaps you built your bin too high too soon? some worms like to mainly stay at the surface so if you have a deep bin expect their to be lots of unfinished stuff on the bottom like paper clumps i find that this is what causes it to stink. make a shallow bin and then as they start finishing that up build ontop of it with new bedding and they will migrate up.