Return to the Vermicomposting Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Do you have red wigglers outside?

Posted by zackey GA 8b (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 6, 12 at 20:56

We have had red wigglers inside in plastic storage boxes for 3 years. We have went fishing one time with them. We must have several hundred if not a thousand of them in a big storage box. Even if I bury the food we have alot and I mean ALOT of fruit flies in the house. I'm sooooo sick of fruit flies I could SCREAM!!!!! Do you have your red wigglers outside? If so, where and how? My horticultural agent at the agricultural center said I shouldn't let them outside. They are not native and they compete with the native worms. I haven't seen a worm in our garden since we moved here 7 years ago. I'm at the point I don't give a hoot! I'm so tired of fruit flies everywhere!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Do you have red wigglers outside?

I am not a scientist, but I believe big agri-bussiness does not want worms around because.... they can NOT make money off them! If worm castings were widely used the there would be little need to purchase fertilizers and many other farm chemicals. My opinion.

I have 3 outdoor worm beds. They are easy to operate.

My original bin is 5'x3'x18",is made of re-recycled
4"x6" redwood posts, has a plywood top and NO bottom. Line the bottom to keep out moles and gophers.Your worms will not leave unless you don't feed them.No problems with over-feeding or too much moisture.

My other 2 beds are large windrow type systems for horse manure.

Unless you have very hot or very cold climate, outside wormin is easy..

Hope this helps and good luck

o

I say i dumped maybe 25 worms in my in ground garden about 6 months ago. We had an uncommon summer rain here last week. I say about 100 worms were on the surface after the rain. No more fruit flies in my house.

o