Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jason_mackenna

Newbie w/ some ideas

jason_mackenna
18 years ago

First of all, thanks to all the posts that I have read over the last few days. It has been extremely educational (esp. Kelly and our alien sighting, worm bin exploding compatriot).

I am a newbie, with a bin about 3 weeks old. I have had some success, and have read quite a bit about different approaches. I have a multi-part question that has not been answered satisfactorily by searching other web sites, FAQS, and this site. To what extent is the use of office paper with either ink jet or laser toner safe to use with vermicompost that will eventually be used with foodstuffs? Second, what processed papers (ie, colored inks, shiny inks, colored paper, construction paper, or highly processed cardboard, for example, food boxes, beer containers, etc) are usuable for a garden with products intended for family consumption?

As a side bar, I am experimenting with the use of toilet paper and paper towel rolls inserted vertically into the vermicompost bin to improve aeration within the bin. If I see any interest in this, I will keep the board updated.

Comments (21)

• DickS
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I did some research on this, including talking to a friend of a friend who works for the EPA. Office paper is fine with either ink jet or laser toner or any other ink currently in use. The only paper you need to avoid is the NCR (no carbon) paper used in multi-part forms. It can be toxic in large amounts.

Same story with any packaging. You might want to avoid metallic or plastic appliqu (some beer cartons have them) though they won't actually hurt the worms. They just don't decompose. I've used office paper, junk mail and every sort of packaging and slick paper for years and had no bad effects to either the worms or the plants the castings were applied to. The tomatoes all taste just fine.

Dick

• newbie314
    18 years ago