Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lrn2gro

Want to Start VC

lrn2gro
11 years ago

So I'm a college student living with 4 other people in a fairly large house. I had brought up the idea of VC to one of my housemates because I felt weird not composting my veg/fruit scraps after doing it all the time outside over the summer at home. The moment I suggested it he made me sound insane. He was concerned about it being a breeding ground for germs and molds and believes that I will be putting his well-being at risk. Has anyone had any trouble with getting sick from indoor composting? I've done my research and it appears no, but my housemate won't have it.

Comments (8)

• Aindra
    11 years ago

The VC process is not without risks. It does have mold, bacteria, fungi spores. Only times it poses the threat is if you're allergic to them. Even so, the threat is not specific to the worm bin; it also applies to the outdoor compost and damp areas outside, well, pretty much everywhere.

You'd be surprised how many molds you have hidden inside your house, no matter how clean you are. I recall the time when I was a lazy teenager and didn't change my pillowcase for a few months. When I did and there were black molds on my pillow! Just imagine sleeping on it every night. I still have nightmares about it sometimes. I'm still here and doing just fine. (I threw said pillow away if you're wondering.)

If your housemate has no known allergies but still nervous with the worm bin, you can place your bin in something like a garage, basement, balcony or some place away from your other housemates and tend to it by yourself.

In short: If you're healthy, it's safe. If it's that dangerous, this vermicomposting forum doesn't exist and we're all ghosts. OOoOooOooOo

Worm Bin Mold Allergies

Health Risk of Composting

• lrn2gro
    Original Author
    11 years ago