Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
awestruck

Worm Compost Stinks And Draws Flies

awestruck
9 years ago

I have been doing worm composting for many years, and this is the first year I have actually used the compost. My question is this; I added some worm compost to little pots that I planted seeds into to grow the plants in. I also added some other fertilizers to the soil in the little pots as well. I put the pots inside saucers to hold the liquid in when the water comes out of the pot. The water around the plants is very dirty and it stinks. It is also drawing lots of fruit flies. I dumped the water out of most of the affected plants. I am wondering if the water around the seedlings is safe though, because it smells bad. Is this normal for worm compost to smell like?

Comments (8)

• barbararose21101
    9 years ago

No.

General assumption is worm castings smell good.
    General assumption is stench comes from an aerobic bacteria. Meaning NOT aerobic.
    Aerobic means oxygenated (sort of) .
    Static water in a pot saucer isn't getting aerobic exercise.
    Thirsty flies will find interesting water wherever it is.
    That water is safe to put in your lawn. (IMO)

A fine, light spray of rubbing alchohol will drop them like . . .
    flies . . . if you can do that without hurting anything else.

I keep sticky fly tape by indoor plants when the situation seems to merit. Don't bother with anything fancier than those in the link. They don't work better and you are apt to want fairly frequent changes. Not very many people are entertained by the sight of a tape with lots of flies on it.

Most importantly don't let this experience stop you from using castings to grow plants. Some fertilizers will interfere with castings. I, and possibly others, would rather you didn't use any other fertilizers. You might not get Miracle results, but you are way more likely to get healthy plants.

What have you done with years worth of unused castings ?