Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
celbrise

can you handle worms bare handed?

Celbrise
11 years ago

i been seeing some people say not to due to the oils on our skin yet i see people handling them with their hands and some of these people are people who sell worms big scale.

any suggestions is it okay to handle worms using your hands or is it a must to use gloves?

i will only be handling when harvesting and maybe to check on them from time to time.

Comments (16)

• mwudan
    11 years ago

no. the oils on your hands will cause them to shrivel and die. find another way to harvest, or learn to live with murder.

• Celbrise
    Original Author
    11 years ago

well that cleared up everything guess i will buy some gloves thanks.

• 3DinAz
    11 years ago

I handle worms all the time. I only wear gloves when I think about it. Let your experience be your guide.

• mendopete
    11 years ago

I never saw a fisherman wear gloves to bait a hook with worms. I am a barehanded worm farmer.

• GreenIvy
    11 years ago

Casual handling will not harm them.

I don't bother with gloves. I just harvested my bin for the first time and picked out tons of worms by hand. The lady I got my starters from just scooped around with her hands and picked worms into her palm.

I do wash my hands before I handle worms because I use a lot of hand-lotion. Worms "breathe" through their skin, so they won't like lotions, oils, perfume or soap residue on your skin.

• PRO
    equinoxequinox
    11 years ago

I'm with mwudan.

My mother always told me to never play with the worms with bare hands otherwize they would grow hair. Nobody wants hairy worms. Since I have never seen one, most everybody must use gloves.