Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nini_treehugger

Vermicompost Worms in Malaysia

Nini_TreeHugger
11 years ago

Hi.

I'm just starting out with my own vermicompost project. I love using recyclable materials and this feels like a natural next step for me. I didn't spend a single cent preparing the bin and the bedding etc as the garage is a treasure trove for my project. Reading from experienced people out there helped a lot.

I thought finding the right worms would be as easy as preparing their 'home'. Oh I was sooooo wrong! I went to the nearby fishing equipment shop to get some worms they use for bait. I couldn't recognize the species as they're probably juveniles and they look just like most of the species of vermicompost worms on the internet. They're doing okay I guess, since I just bought them and it's still too early to tell.

Then I got overambitious and started to search the net for local vermicompost worm farms. I thought maybe if I bought worms from them, at least I could recognize the species. I would know their specific requirements etc.

It seems that there are 3 groups of websites which sell those worms:

1. the big companies - they only sell large quantities, like 10 kgs of worms at RM 300 per kg and above, since the worms are imported ie African Nightcrawlers and Red Wigglers (adopting thousands of worms are probably like adopting 101 Dalmations... only less spotty)

2. family owned companies - very popular back in 2008. Went out of business soon after. I really don't know why.

3. National Agricultural Dept & Research Institutes - they don't sell the worms to the public. They used to though.

I've read a post somewhere that the Malaysian govt is limiting the import of those worms from overseas. I don't know whether there's an ecological or health issue.