Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bluefoxicy

New to Vermicomposting...

bluefoxicy
10 years ago

I'm new to vermicomposting. Trying to get started with a Worm Factory, a bin, and some Red Worms and European Night Crawlers.

The bin contains European Night Crawlers, dirt, some water, some compost (half-finished from the compost bin), and coffee grounds mixed into the soil. The ENCs in there seem to be doing extremely well. The soil sloped to a pool; I got some juvenile ENCs after a couple weeks, and they... climbed into the water and died. Adult ENCs were climbing into the water and ACTIVELY SWIMMING(?!), and they're fast in the water; but I dumped used coffee grounds in there to give the juveniles an easy way out.

The Worm Factory contains an unknown number of Red Wigglers. I see plenty at the bottom of the bin when I overwater it (they ran from the moist, still-hot coffee grounds); but even when they vanish into the bin, I can't find them. Digging doesn't help. I'm finding juveniles, too. The bin is mostly coffee grounds, but I added them hot and wet--not good. Since the coffee grounds dried out some, I've been finding plenty on top the bin--not in the coffee, but rather on top of ALL the material, even the shredded paper. They seem to have all migrated back into the bin... somewhere.

I've been using TUMS crushed and dissolved into water to control pH because I don't have access to egg shells. Coffee grounds are a pH control but they can go from 4.6 up to around 8, and really 6-7 is ideal (but 4.6 isn't really that bad). I have lots of coffee grounds; I now put them in a separate bin for a week, where they get covered in white mycellium from fungus. Mix that up and throw them into the bin, mixed with plenty of microshredded paper.