Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cp_arclight

Odd little blob of a bug

cp-arclight
14 years ago

Total newbie to vermicomposting, and I have a bug identification request.

Lately I've noticed some strange little critters (not springtails or thrips) that are munching away at the surface material of the feeding bin. They're all over the place, look like a sprinkling of coarse-grained salt on the shredded newspaper.

Dimension of "full-size" insect is ~1.5mm, and it is almost spherical in shape. Color is very pale, almost white. Tiny appendages. VERY slow moving.

I ask because I've noticed that they sometimes creep out of the screened vent holes in the top of my bin.

Can anyone ID these little critters? Are they a larval stage of something that I should be concerned about, or are they just another denizen of the composter?

Comments (5)

• kathmcd7
    14 years ago

I have these too! I posted once before and didn't really get an answer. They have multiplied and also are on the pieces of cardboard. I would love to get rid of whatever it is. They really don't seem to move, but when you put the food in they appear. I've tried baiting them out but they just don't go away like the mites did. I used to get food from a grocer, and I wonder if they came from boxes from another country? This was also before I froze all my food. Sure hope we get some help on this.

• rom.calgary.ab
    14 years ago

Sounds like mites to me. These do no harm to the worms and actually are a benefit to your system, they eat the food items you put in your bin and not the micro-organisms that the worms are after. They benefit the system in that they get to work on the food that is just beginning to decompose and their waste becomes worm food as well. They are not worm predators so there is no worry there.