Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sk290

Cardboard

Sandra Tran
14 years ago

Hello there,

I am a newbie and have been taking my time doing research and deciding whether or not I can get over the worms and bugs. Now I've located a very nice lady who is giving me a quart of worms so I can start my new bin this coming Saturday.

Panic has set in! I need to make sure I have a good home for these little things so I've gathered some grocery store bags (the brown ones) and started to shred them last night. I've read that ink can be harmful to worms which these bags have some of (Trader Joe's bags). I've also gathered some Chiquita banana cardboard boxes for the local store. Would that be okay or should I tear off the top of the boxes where it's printed? Guess I could cut it off with a knife and tear it off.

Any suggestions? It seems like everything has something printed on. Where do you get cardboard boxes without any printed logos and such?

I hope I don't end up killing the poor worms. Help please!!! :( :(

Sandra

Comments (17)

• sbryce_gw
    14 years ago

In general, printing on bags and cardboard boxes is not a problem. You want to avoid paper or cardboard with a slick, glossy surface, such as magazines or cereal boxes.

If there is any way you can get pieces of the banana boxes to go through your shredder, that will help.

• Jasdip
    14 years ago

Newspapers, used computer paper, statements, egg cartons, the cardboard sleeve that goes around a cup of take-out coffee,
    corrugated/cardboard boxes (the kind that folds flat) all these can be used for bedding. This is the perfect season to collect fallen leaves. I've got 3 garbage bags full of leaves for my bins.

• rom.calgary.ab
    14 years ago